Faculty

Faculty | Adjunct Faculty| Faculty Emeritus |
Faculty Associates | Research Associates

Faculty

John Anderson
zoology, behavioral ecology, anatomy, and physiology
janderson@coa.edu
207-801-5717
Read Bio

Molly Anderson
Food Systems and Sustainable Agriculture
manderson@coa.edu
(207) 801-5729
Read Bio

Nancy Evelyn Andrews
Performance Art and Video Production
nandrews@coa.edu
207-801-5721
Read Bio

Jodi Baker
Performing arts, Theatre
jbaker@coa.edu
207-801-5736
Read Bio

Elmer Beal
Ethnology, Anthropological Theory and Traditional Music
ebeal@coa.edu
(207) 801-5702
Read Bio

Rich Borden
Environmental Psychology, Personality and Social Development, Contemporary Psychology, and Philosophy of Human Ecology
rborden@coa.edu
(207) 801-5722
Read Bio

Heath Cabot
Anthropology
hcabot@coa.edu
(207) 801-5734
Read Bio

Colin Capers
Writing and Composition, Film Studies
ccapers@coa.edu
(207) 288-5015 ext. 5811
Read Bio

William Carpenter
Literature, Creative Writing, Comparative Mythology, and Maine Coast History and Architecture
bcarpenter@coa.edu
(207) 801-5704
Read Bio

Don Cass
Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics
dcass@coa.edu
(207) 801-5707
Read Bio

Ken Cline
public policy and environmental law
kcline@coa.edu
(207) 801-5719
Read Bio

Catherine Clinger
art history, studio art
cclinger@coa.edu
(207) 801-5733
Read Bio

Dru Colbert
graphic design, three dimensional art and design; museum issues, practice, and interpretation
dcolbert@coa.edu
(207) 801-5708
Read Bio

John Cooper
music fundamentals, aesthetics of music and improvisation
jcooper@coa.edu
(207) 801-5706
Read Bio

J. Gray Cox
social theory, political economics and history
gcox@coa.edu
(207) 801-5712
Read Bio

Anna Demeo
Physics, Mathematics
ademeo@coa.edu
(207) 288-5015 ext. 5843
Read Bio

Dave Feldman
Mathematics and Physics
dfeldman@coa.edu
(207) 801-5709
Read Bio

Jay Friedlander
Socially Responsible Business, Entrepreneurship, and Sustainable Business
jfriedlander@coa.edu
(207) 801-5716
Read Bio

Sarah Hall
Earth science, Geology
shall@coa.edu
207-801-5735
Read Bio

Helen Hess
invertebrate zoology and biomechanics
hhess@coa.edu
(207) 801-5713
Read Bio

Ken Hill
education and psychology
khill@coa.edu
(207) 801-5630
Read Bio

Anne Kozak
Writing
akozak@coa.edu
(207) 801-5701
Read Bio

Todd Little-Siebold
history and Latin American studies
tlittle-siebold@coa.edu
(207) 801-5726
Read Bio

Gordon Longsworth
Geographic Information Systems
glongsworth@coa.edu
(207) 801-5677
Read Bio

Isabel Mancinelli
Community and Regional Planning, Landscape Architecture
imancinelli@coa.edu
(207) 801-5714
Read Bio

Jamie McKown
Government and Polity
jmckown@coa.edu
(207) 801-5718
Read Bio

Ernie McMullen
art
emcmullen@coa.edu
(207) 801-5720
Read Bio

Suzanne R. Morse
applied botany, plant ecology and tropical studies
smorse@coa.edu
(207) 801-5724
Read Bio

Karla Pena
Spanish language
kpena@coa.edu
Read Bio

Chris Petersen
Marine Biology, Evolution, Field Ecology, and Policy
cpetersen@coa.edu
(207) 801-5705
Read Bio

Nishanta Rajakaruna
botany, evolutionary ecology
nrajakaruna@coa.edu
(207) 801-5731
Read Bio

Stephen Ressel
Vertebrate Biology, Comparative Animal Physiology, Herpetology
sressel@coa.edu
(207) 801-5723
Read Bio

Doreen Stabinsky
Agricultural Policy, International Studies, and Global Environmental Politics
dstabinsky@coa.edu
(207) 801-5710
Read Bio

Candice Stover
Writing and Literature
candice@prexar.com
(207) 288-5015 ext. 5815
Read Bio

Scott Swann
Ecology, Natural History, Ornithology
sswann@coa.edu
(207) 288-5015 ext. 5892
Read Bio

Bonnie Tai
Education
btai@coa.edu
(207) 801-5703
Read Bio

Davis F. Taylor
Neoclassical and Ecological Economics
dtaylor@coa.edu
(207) 801-5711
Read Bio

Sean Todd
Marine Mammalology, Biology and Oceanography
stodd@coa.edu
(207) 801-5725
Read Bio

Katharine Turok
Writing and Composition, World Literature
kturok@coa.edu
(207) 288-5015 ext. 5812
Read Bio

Netta van Vliet
nvanvliet@coa.edu
Read Bio

John Visvader
Philosophy of Science and Technology, Philosophy of Nature, Cosmology, History of Ideas, and Chinese Philosophy
jvisvader@coa.edu
(207) 801-5715
Read Bio

Karen Waldron
19th and 20th Century American Literature, Minority, Cultural and Feminist Theory
kwaldron@coa.edu
(207) 801-5727
Read Bio

Josh Winer
Photography
jwiner@coa.edu
+
Read Bio

back to top

Adjunct Faculty

Joanne Alex
jalex@coa.edu

Ron Beard
Community Planning and Decision making
rbeard@umext.maine.edu

Michael Bennett
World Percussion

Pete Berquist
pete.berquist@gmail.com

Ryan Bouldin
Chemistry, Mathematics
rbouldin@coa.edu
(207) 801-5732

Melita Brecher
sculpture, papermaking

Earl Brechlin
Journalism

William Buyers-Basso
Museum studies, Taxidermy

Tom Cheetham
Philosophy, Geology, Entomology

Lucy Creevey
political science
lcreevey@coa.edu
(207)288-8003

Fran Day
Non-profit Management, Grant Proposal Writing
fday@esa.org

George DeWolfe
Photography

Matthew Drennan
Ornithology, Polar Studies
mpdrennan@gmail.com

Katherine Frank
Anthropology
katefrank@comcast.net

Christine Heinz
photography
cheinz@coa.edu

Sue Hersey
elementary education

John Jacob
photography

Tora Johnson
GIS, marine, environmental, and nautical science

Etta Kralovec
Educational philosophy

Christa Little-Siebold
Cultural anthropology, gender and power, anthropology of the Yucatan

Owen Logue
Adaptive education, School and society

Fred Olday
Botany, plant science

Ron Poitras
Economics

Siobhan Ryan
sryan@coa.edu

Kelly Sanborn
ksanborn@coa.edu

Lucy Bell Sellers
theater

Josie Sigler
writing

Jeremy Ward
Genetics

back to top

Faculty Associates

Sarah Day

Debbie Greene

William Hathaway

Brian Hoey

Patricia Honea-Fleming

Robert W. Kates

Craig Kesselheim

George Kidder III

Susan Lerner

Beverly Paigen

Marion Stocking

David Towle

back to top

Research Associates

Kim Chater
Research: Humpback Whales of the Southern Hemisphere

Jorge DeLeon
Research: Conservation biology of coastal wetlands in Uruguay

Dan DenDanto
Research: Population biology of fin whales using genetic techniques

Kate Devlin
Research: Island Research Center, research on breeding biology of sea birds

John Drury
Research: Investigations on breeding biology of sea birds of Maine islands

Linda Gregory
Research: Acadia National Park resource inventory and investigation, coastal biology

Tanner Harris
Research: Studies the effects of air pollutants on plant growth and the role of urban trees in improving air quality. Botanical work includes lichen and vascular plant surveys on serpentine and other metal-contaminated soils in Maine.

Jeffery Kahl
Research: Water resources and watershed research

Julianne Kearney
jkearney@coa.edu

Christopher Kroot
Research: Computer Science and integration of Geographic Information Systems into environmental protection

Alan Mainwaring
Research: Computer Science and wireless network monitoring of habitats

Gale McCullough
Research: Life histories of individually-identified harbor seals in the Gulf of Maine

Jennifer Rock
Research: Zoology and evolutionary biology

Sally Rooney
Research: Vascular plant flora of Acadia National Park

Rosemary Seton
Research: Photo-identification studies of humpback whales

Carol Slocum
Research: Behavior observation of harbor seal populations

Peter Stevick
Research: Population biology of humpback whales

Greg Stone
Research: Investigations on baleen whales and dolphins of the Southern Hemisphere; use of submersibles and night vision technology for marine mammal studies

Jill Weber
Research: Vascular plant flora of Acadia National Park

Ann Zoidis
Research: Photo-ID & genetic sampling of Gulf of Maine humpbacks & finbacks; acoustic studies of Hawaiian humpbacks and pelagic species

back to top

Faculty Emeritus

JoAnne Carpenter
Art, Painting, Art History
jcarpenter@coa.edu

back to top